The University of Tasmania (UTAS) was officially founded on 1st January 1890, by an Act of the Colony's Parliament and was only the fourth university to be established in nineteenth-century Australia.   The University was originally located on the Domain in Hobart, however as the University developed, it outgrew its original site and in the early 1940's began to transfer its departments to Sandy Bay, which became the new home for the institution.

In addition to being one of the oldest universities in Australia, UTAS is also one of the youngest. In 1991, a year after its centenary, the University merged with the Tasmanian State Institute of Technology in Newnham, Launceston (TSIT), to form a 'new' University of Tasmania. In 1995, the university extended its statewide representation when it opened the Cradle Coast Campus in Burnie.

UTAS’ is ranked in the top two per cent of universities worldwide and currently has around 29,000 local, national and international students. Throughout their careers, this underpins the success of the 90,000 alumni UTAS has spread across more than 120 countries.

Internationally recognised teaching programs and research institutes like the Australian Maritime College (AMC), Menzies Institute and Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies have built UTAS’ reputation.