The Launceston Chamber of Commerce has appointed two new Board Members to fill casual vacancies at a Special Board Meeting last week.

The Chamber announced that Tim Gardner, Executive Chairman of Stornoway, and John Kirwan, CEO of Royal Flying Doctor Service, have taken up positions on the Board.

Janine Healey President of the Chamber advised that “the organisation has a broad representation of skills and industry experience that reflects the diversity of our membership.  We represent members from all industry sectors within Northern Tasmania, including: manufacturing, hospitality, retail, health, professional services, finance, and not-for-profit entities. Ms Healey advised that “Board renewal is really important for any organisation that wants to stay relevant in challenging times. The new Board Members bring fresh ideas and enthusiasm to the Board Room and challenge the way we all think, and that is what is needed in any successful organisation”.

Details of the two new Board Members are as follows:

  1. 1.    Tim Gardner, Executive Chairman, Stornoway

Tim is now Executive Chairman of Stornoway, and has managed the organisation since 2006.   Stornoway are a business involved in the development, management and maintenance of road and water infrastructure nationally, and the supply of a diversified range of quarry products from sites across Tasmania.


Tim has refocussed the business since 2006 to grow a strong organisational culture that provides outstanding infrastructure services to their clients in the areas of government, resources and property sectors.  Tim’s skills include: business strategy, organisational leadership, infrastructure planning, and brand and cultural development.  Tim lives in Hobart – but spends a lot of time in Launceston, where the majority of Stornoway staff are based.  Stornoway were also the ‘Business of the Year’ Winners of the Launceston Chamber Business Excellence Awards in 2013.


  1. 2.    John Kirwan, RFDS Tasmania (from January)


John Kirwan has been appointed as the CEO of the Royal Flying Doctor Service Tasmania just recently. Prior to this John was the CEO of Launceston General Hospital (LGH) from mid


2008, and in July 2012 was also appointed as the CEO of the Tasmanian Health Organisation-North.


John has had over 30 years of IR, HR and operational health experience. He has been the Commissioner for Public Employment in the Northern Territory, the Executive General Manager responsible for the Acute, Community, Public and Aboriginal Health areas of the Health Department of Western Australia (HDWA), and the General Manager responsible for Health Workforce Reform in HDWA. He was a full time union Official in Western Australia for 14 years.  John brings to the Chamber a long history of policy development, health industry expertise, and government relations experience.


The two new Board Members join ongoing members: Steve Bishop of Bishops Barristers and Solicitors, appointed for a two year term, replacing Robin Lohrey as a result of her resignation and relocation to Hobart.  Recently joined Board Members, Ray Mostogl, General Manager of Bell Bay Aluminium, and Andrew Pitt of Neill Pitt’s Menswear, were also re-elected in October 2014 for another three year term.

Janine Healey was re-elected as President of the Chamber for another 12 months. Richard Ireland, Entrepreneur and Councillor on West Tamar Council, and Ian Wright, CEO of St Giles Society, were elected as Vice Presidents, and Donna Bain, General Manager of Self Help Workplace, was appointed as Treasurer.


A full list of the Chamber Boards Members are attached, and photos of Tim Gardner and John Kirwan.