Aurora Energy is a State-owned company established in 1998 under the Electricity Companies Act 1997. Aurora’s two Shareholders are the Minister for Energy and the Treasurer.

Aurora Energy is a stand-alone retailer in Tasmania, competing in a fully contestable electricity market. As a Tasmanian company proudly supporting Tasmanians, Aurora remains committed to engaging with customers, supporting our communities and building on a long history of delivering electricity and gas to Tasmanians.